Key People, Named people, and Open Roles can be defined within any DF Studio Project, or in any folder to be inherited by its enclosed folders and Projects. Open the People dashboard and navigate to the tabs for “Manage People” or “Manage Open Roles” to configure these values.
Use the Manage People tab to pre-configure the People for a specific Project. The names and roles configured here will be presented as type-ahead suggestions in the person editor when tagging recognized people. These names and roles will also be applied automatically if People Recognition is able to identify their faces based on existing data elsewhere in the DF Studio account.
People may be added manually with the “Add” button, or imported from a comma-separated list of names and roles, using the “Import” button.
People can also be added at a folder level, to be inherited by all other folders and Projects within. Similar to the functionality of Metadata Terms, this allows for a controlled set of names and roles for a series of related Projects that will all feature the same people.
People that have not been associated with any assets can be deleted from the list by clicking the “Remove” button.
Names added to the Person(s) Shown metadata field will automatically be designated Named, with the associated role included, if configured. This applies to names imported from file metadata, metadata imports, or direct input with the metadata editor.
All Key and Named people identified in an image will be included in the Person/Role metadata field, along with their roles if configured.
People that have been removed will not appear in the asset metadata. See “Remove People,” below.
Key People
Key People is a specific designation for people of particular significance within a Project. This allows filtering any view to set aside other people identified by People Recognition, and focus only on the Key People.
Click any person to open the person editor, then click “Key” to promote that person to a Key Person.
Open Roles
Open Roles help achieve a similar controlled vocabulary for certain roles that are used by multiple people, primarily crew roles which may be used in multiple contexts. Providing these values as a type-ahead suggestion helps maintain consistency and speed up tagging workflows. Unlike those roles that are associated with a particular name, Open Roles will appear as a suggestion in all person editors.
Open Roles may be defined at a Project level, or at a folder level to be inherited by enclosed folders and Projects. For example, to define a common list of frequently-used roles such as Director or Executive Producer, these Open Roles can be defined at the Library level and inherited throughout the DF Studio account.
Remove People
A recognized person can be changed to a Key Person, Named, or Unknown using the person editor. (Changing to Unknown will erase any name and role information.) Separate from this classification, the removed status hides the person from view and removes their name from the Person(s) Shown metadata field, without losing any of the information attached to the person.
From the person editor, click “Remove” to remove a person.
Removed people are hidden from People View by default, but their circled faces are highlighted when the mouse pointer moves over them. Use the filter controls above the face strip in People View to make them visible at all times.
Removed people can also be viewed and modified in the Removed section of the People dashboard.
Click “Restore” in the person editor to restore a removed person to another status, or save changes to the name and role and choose Key or Named.