In DF Studio, the Bin is an easily accessible temporary holder for ad hoc sets of assets. Assets from any view can be added to the Bin with a single click, allowing the user to assemble a set of assets quickly, then take action on them.
Add Assets to the Bin
Click any preview in the DF Studio workspace to select its asset, which will outline it with a light blue border. To select multiple consecutive assets, click the first asset, then hold the Shift key while selecting the last asset—the selection will include all assets in between.
To select multiple non-consecutive assets, or to add or remove individual assets from an existing selection, hold down the Command key (Mac) or Control key (Windows/Linux) while clicking additional assets.
Add selected assets to the Bin from any view by clicking the “Add to Bin” button in the toolbar at the bottom of the DF Studio window, or using the “Add to Bin” button from the Inspector.
Adding an asset to the Bin does not remove it from its originating Project. Assets are always stored in Projects—the Bin merely holds references to assets in their original location.
Work With Assets in the Bin
Click the purple “Bin” button at the bottom of the left sidebar in DF Studio to view the contents of the Bin. Many of the same features and options are available in the Bin as in a Project or Collection view.
A Messenger can be sent by clicking the “Send” button in the toolbar, and selected assets (or the entire Bin) can be added to a Collection, or used to make a new Collection, by clicking the “Collection” button in the toolbar.
A printable PDF proofsheet of the Bin’s assets can be generated by clicking the “Print” button in the toolbar, or the assets can be published to a remote service using the “Publish” button.
The Asset Inspector in the right sidebar contains action buttons that can be used to interact with selected assets. The available actions are limited compared to what might appear in a Project or Collection, based on certain features that are not available in the Bin.
Move Assets Using the Bin
An additional feature of the Bin which does not appear when viewing the Bin is the “Move from Bin” button, which appears in the Project Inspector of any Project.
Clicking this button in a Project will gather assets in the Bin from the Project (or Projects) where they originated and migrate them into the current Project instead. The Bin will be emptied, and the assets will no longer appear in the Project where they were previously stored. For more details, see Move Assets Using the Bin.
Remove Assets From the Bin
To remove individual assets from the Bin, select the asset (or assets), then click the “Remove” button in the Asset Inspector.
Confirm the removal in the confirmation overlay, and the asset(s) will disappear from the Bin.
This operation does not delete any files, nor does it remove the assets from their originating Projects. The only change is that the assets are removed from the Bin.
Clear the Bin
To empty all assets from the Bin, move the mouse pointer over the purple “Bin” button, then click the “Clear Bin” button when it appears.
Confirm the operation by clicking the “Confirm” button, and the Bin will be emptied.